• We're currently having issues with our e-mail system. Anything requiring e-mail validation (2FA, forgotten passwords, etc.) requires to be changed manually at the moment. Please reach out via the Contact Us form if you require any assistance.

Question How do i go about making covers when i can't find a MIDI for the song i want?

REDD

Aspiring Fan
May 19, 2020
Hi, absolute beginner to making covers with Vocaloid here. Just to preface this, i have very minimal music theory knowledge, so please bear with me.
I want to make a cover of a song, but I cant seem to find a MIDI of it.
Now, I don't know music theory, so I tried tuning it by ear, and its just not working out, and it's quite tedious. Is there any way around this or am I just gonna have to get better at recognizing notes on my own?

Also, I know that some people use a MIDI keyboard to make their own MIDIs, but i sadly do not have this available to me at the moment. And again, i don't know much about music theory to the point where i can tune things by ear.

uncreepy

👵Escaped from the retirement home
Apr 9, 2018
You don't have to have a MIDI keyboard to make MIDIs. You can draw the notes by hand in a DAW (ex: In Studio One, double click and a note appears, then drag the sides to make it smaller/larger).

I'm gonna list some advice, but I want to get this out of the way and mention that some people in the community do MIDI commissions.