• We're currently having issues with our e-mail system. Anything requiring e-mail validation (2FA, forgotten passwords, etc.) requires to be changed manually at the moment. Please reach out via the Contact Us form if you require any assistance.

Image Editing Software Recommendations?

mobius017

Aspiring ∞ Creator
Apr 8, 2018
Can anyone share recommendations for image-editing software? I've been using Corel for awhile (which I think is relatively similar to PhotoShop), but they've moved to a subscription model.

I'm not really a visual artist, so I think something like Clip Studio Paint is probably not quite right for me. When I do image editing, it's mostly combination/slight modification of existing images. For example, creating my avatar, or the Miku vaccine image, or the userbars for the Miku fanclub.

At the moment, I'm thinking the best option seems to be GiMP, although I've heard it can be a little un-user-friendly. I don't mind paying for the software as long as it's not too expensive, but I also don't do a lot of image editing, so something really expensive or subscription-based doesn't interest me. Of course, I'd like it to be decent software--something that works well, ideally is relatively easy/intuitive, and doesn't crash. (Is that too tall an order?)

Thanks!

Last edited:

Luxie

Kagamine Rin and Len cover artist
Aug 3, 2022
Eastern USA
Okay, so not Photoshop. My sister uses Pixlr X for image editing, and it’s free and web based. I’d test it out.
That being said, I’ve also heard positive reviews about GiMP too.

Reactions: mobius017

pico

robot enjoyer
Sep 10, 2020
I've never personally found I've found the niche for graphics editing outside of PS.
I own Clip Studio 1 and found that it will do some things really well, but is a nightmare for other things. Basically, no matter what I do, I keep getting pushed back toward PS which I'm not a fan of.