• We're currently having issues with our e-mail system. Anything requiring e-mail validation (2FA, forgotten passwords, etc.) requires to be changed manually at the moment. Please reach out via the Contact Us form if you require any assistance.

General DAW Discussion Thread

I thought I would make a thread like this to compare DAW features, prices and stuff. Also to discuss new releases, VSTs, give advices, share videos and whatever fits to the discussion.
---

To start off, I have an issue that should be familiar to everyone who used Studio One 3 Artist Piapro Edition that was bundled with Crypton's VOCALOIDs:

Now that V5 is there - and it supports VST - I can't decide which DAW I should switch to!
I can no longer use SO3 because it's limited to the Piapro Studio VST only, so I need a new one to work with V5. Since I am a SO3 Artist user, I can upgrade to SO3 Professional with a discount. However, there already is SO4, which seems to look prettier and have some new features, but does it have an upgrade offer for SO3 Artist Piapro users?
I'm fine with using the Artist version only, as long as it supports V5.
I'm also intrigued by Steinberg Cubase due to the VOCALOID 4.5 Editor that comes with V5, but I don't understand this whole crossgrade stuff.
Can I crossgrade from SO3 Artist Piapro Edition to Cubase 9.5? Crossgrading from any DAW to another - is that how it works?
Another DAW I have an eye on is FL Studio because it's a cheaper one and also very popular.

What I'm basically looking for is the cheapest way to switch to a DAW that supports V5. But that doesn't mean that I want some cheap garbage! I'm willing to spend some more money on it if it helps my workflow.

Last edited:

Kona

Avanna's #1 Fan
Apr 8, 2018
USA
@ZAR-PARTY To answer your questions...

If you like Studio One 3 and just want to add V5 compatibility, you can purchase the add on to allow third party VSTs to be used, including Vocaloid5.