• We're currently having issues with our e-mail system. Anything requiring e-mail validation (2FA, forgotten passwords, etc.) requires to be changed manually at the moment. Please reach out via the Contact Us form if you require any assistance.

Programming

A tiny mouse

Little squeak
Apr 8, 2018
Does anybody do programming here?
I do C++ although I'm still far from being considered a pro. I'm trying to learn Python, too, because I want to make Blender scripts.

Haji

Artistic director at bC
Apr 10, 2018
Java a little. So no that low lvl languages as you. ; ) But started with Python actually and smoothly changed to Java because it looks safer for me when I claim classes, not leave it to language's own interpretation xP

maple

russian translator
Apr 18, 2018
Russia
Hello. I read a book about programming for C under MS-DOS, as I did 20 years ago. I try to read this book.

bioloid

Aspiring Fan
Apr 8, 2018
Maryland USA
I'm a programmer, mostly C/C++ for work, and Swift for play.

This is a C++ rant
Despite working in C++ a lot, I despise it as a language. C is full of undefined (or ill-defined) behavior, which C++ doggedly sticks to under the misbegotten ideal of backwards compatibility. C++ then adds heaping mounds of its own complexity, extending and amplifying these undefined behaviors.

C has automatic type coercion, but only for basic types and with well defined (but NOT portable) rules; C++ adds user-defined automatic type coercion, so something as simple as passing an integer literal into a function could trigger a non-trivial amount of program logic. Moreover, automatic type coercion makes it impossible to specialize a function based on return type. Automatic type coercion made it necessary to add explicit to the language.