• We're currently having issues with our e-mail system. Anything requiring e-mail validation (2FA, forgotten passwords, etc.) requires to be changed manually at the moment. Please reach out via the Contact Us form if you require any assistance.

Question How to Make an Arrangement of a Song?

Sep 21, 2019
So... basically what the title says. I've been wanting to make an arrangement of the song "Meltdown" for a while, but I keep finding that my instrument choices are relatively lackluster and that I'm totally overwhelmed because I really don't know anything about making a proper arrangement. (Also my arrangements that I have done tend to sound very incomplete because the MIDIs I find are intended to be played on the piano.)

I tend to really get stumped at identifying what types of effects were used on the instruments in the original songs so I feel like my arrangements end up lacking a certain "oomph" because of that.

(Also, it probably doesn't help I'm a total noob at music making! :clara_ani_lili:)

So just any tips/advice/etc. are appreciated!

inactive

Passionate Fan
Jun 27, 2019
I don't think you can easily teach arrangement on an internet forum, especially because it's more art than science. (Although there is a small science element to many arrangements.)

However, if you're using a piano-based MIDI file as a basis for your project, it's likely that the piano arrangement is missing the bass notes. Or rather, they're likely transposed up an octave to make performance simpler for intermediate players. Although bass guitars, double basses, contrabassoons, etc. are notated on a bass clef, they sound an octave lower than written. In contrast, the bass clef notes found in most beginner and intermediate piano music sound as written. The lack of "oomph" that you describe could be the lack of a bass. (Although I'm only guessing because I haven't heard your WIP.)