• We're currently having issues with our e-mail system. Anything requiring e-mail validation (2FA, forgotten passwords, etc.) requires to be changed manually at the moment. Please reach out via the Contact Us form if you require any assistance.

VOCALOID Vocaloid light novels

uncreepy

👵Escaped from the retirement home
Apr 9, 2018
Has anyone ever read a Vocaloid light novel? (It appears some have been translated to English, but I am interested in getting a Japanese Kindle version.) I found a list of novels adapted from Vocaloid songs (it's in Japanese, but it's basically whatever song has reached mega-popular status, such as "Acute", "Kochira, Koufuku Anshin Iinkai desu" or "Love Trial") and see there are quite a few to choose from, though I haven't heard all of the songs on the list.

I'm kind of disappointed, because a lot of the ones I looked up got really bad ratings on Amazon for being amateurish, confusing, or boring. But I've been considering getting one for like 2 years and it's finally getting to me. OTL

So, any recommendations if you've read one? If not, which song do you think would have the most interesting plot?

Narumo Luckycarrot

Aspiring Fan
Apr 8, 2018
Chile
narumo.deviantart.com
This is probably not the most helpful of answers, but the question got me thinking.

I've translated parts of three Vocaloid light novels (Cloture of Yellow, Witch Hunt and The Man Who Doesn't Know the Sun), and I found them just ok. At the same time, I wasn't expecting masterpieces in the first place. Or even books that could be compared to Real Serious Literature, which probably reveals some prejudice on my part :P I don't regret buying those books though, I was curious about the story and that need was met.

So yeah, I have no recommendations, sorry.

Unagi

Passionate Fan
Apr 9, 2018
California, U.S.A
I don't either, but I just thought of something.