• We're currently having issues with our e-mail system. Anything requiring e-mail validation (2FA, forgotten passwords, etc.) requires to be changed manually at the moment. Please reach out via the Contact Us form if you require any assistance.

hamano tries to draw

hamano

ミクさんマジ天使
Staff member
Apr 8, 2018
mobile.twitter.com
Hi there,
around a week ago I got a sudden urge to try drawing fanart of Miku after a pretty long break, and I guess I kind of promised to post my drawings here. I'm a beginner and I still have a lot to improve, so I'd like to hear some feedback from all of you. What's good about my drawings and what I should work on?
The two biggest problems I see are (apart from general lack of skill) that I'm bad at inking (shaky hands :P), and in the second drawing Miku's twintails didn't turn out too well. Overall I'm happy though. I was going to make them black-and-white, but today I decided to colour them quickly.

Anyway, this is what I drew:

Move->Forward

🔹🔷🔹🔷🔹
Mar 25, 2018
You did a good job on these, hamano!

As for things to improve, I'd recommend working on anatomy (though, honestly, this is something a lot of artists will bring up, so don't sweat about any difficulty you may come across in it). It may help to take a picture of yourself in a similar pose or at an angle you are drawing Miku in, and use that as a general guide (i.e. for placement of facial features, general placement of arms, etc).

You are very good at focusing and incorporating small details, such as the ears and flowers, for example. Particularly in the first drawing, the ear is very detailed, and in the second drawing, the flowers look very nice. You've also incorporated clothing details as well, such as with the "nameplate" (not sure what to call it) and its visible sides in the first picture, and the bows' folds of the second. You've even drawn lines for her collar bone!

So, I would say things to work on: anatomy. Strengths: incorporation of small details.